elementary school economics

Posted on June 13, 2012

0


I don’t understand this money thing. Never did. When I was 4, I was at K-Mart with my mother, and I picked up a pack of Tic-Tacs and put them in my pocket. It wasn’t until later that day, back at home that my mother saw me with the Tic-Tacs and asked where I had gotten them. I told her, “I picked ’em up at K-Mart.”

That was my introduction to stealing.

I thought it was just the logical way that people behaved. You go to the store, you pick up what you need, and treat yourself with something a little extra, and you just pay one price. I reiterate, I was 4.

When I was 9, I was discussing the finer points of economics with a friend on the playground, at the lunch table, and on the bus ride home. We’ll call him Ben. I would assert to Ben that I couldn’t understand money. And that I thought the natural course for humanity was to all just work at providing products and services for each other without a market.

“How are you going to have an advanced society without a market?”

And I’m asking, “How are you going to have an advanced society with a market?”

 

Posted in: Uncategorized